Fatty Egg Roll, Midtown Links & the End of the Week Wrap Up

As much as I’m embarrassed to admit it, I used to be a Grateful Dead fan in High School.  This may not be that funny to you (since you only know me as a fat guy who likes to stuff his face at lunch time), but most people who know me would be pretty surprised to hear that.  What nobody would be surprised to hear is my favorite part of going to a Dead show was these gigantor fatty egg rolls that would be sold outside beforehand.  They were huge, and stuffed fat, usually with shredded carrots and cabbage and they would give you a little packet of duck sauce so you could walk around squirting little bits into the egg roll before you took a bite.  For $3 it was one of the best things I’ve ever eaten, and I’ve never seen them anywhere since.  Man I miss those things.  (Where have you gone strange Grateful Dead following hippie giant egg roll makers????)

Anyway, you can imagine my excitement when I walked by Aron’s Kosher Restaurant on 48th btw. 5+6th the other day and saw this outside their door:

Sure, they weren’t gigantic, and the guy selling them was some Jewish kid who was probably not a hippie.  But they had the little packets of duck sauce, and for only $1- I had to get one.

The inside of the egg roll, links to Midtown stuff you definitely want to know about and the a preview of next week’s reviews- after the jump…

The egg roll was about as good as you would expect a Kosher egg roll to be.  Being a big fan of pork- I felt it was… how would you say “missing something?” (namely pork).  But it was only a buck, and I do love buying things from unmarked tables on the sidewalks of NYC.  It wasn’t even close to being as good as one of those Grateful Dead Parking Lot egg rolls (and only a third the size)- but it still brought back some nice memories. (Next time I’ll probably go with one of the more traditional kosher pastries they sell at the table!)

MIDTOWN LINKS:

Next week is a short week… but we’ll still be here.  I still haven’t decided where I’m eating today… so feel free to leave suggestions as comments, or email me at midtownlunch@hotmail.com   (I guess you’ll find out on Monday where I decided to go) Have a good weekend…

13 Responses to Fatty Egg Roll, Midtown Links & the End of the Week Wrap Up

  1. gen says:

    hi! delicious arent they? i love food…can you please link with me so my friends can also view your blog..pretty please…….thanks..

  2. eat2love says:

    i’ve seen fat egg rolls sold on the sidewalk on seventh ave. btwn. 34 & 33 st. , i used to get the best “egg roll” at ollie’s where they make a shrimp roll that’s chopped shrimp wrapped in a sheet of nori and fried – yummy !

  3. daveklop says:

    Now if only someone would open a stand in midtown selling tie-died grilled-cheese sandwiches!

  4. maria says:

    svabodu belarusii

    I cogitating it worked out whole, his dam said. Leena ki ukhadi saans thodi shaant huyi tab boli, ha, phalli baar pi svabodu belarusii hun.

  5. whirlpool front load washer reviews

    The website is whirlpool front load washer reviews into not too many sub-sections including accessories, andirons, tools, fireplace screens, log holders, and pokers.

  6. free johnny reb music download

    Amphetamine is like one possessed lost by inhalation and is misused by this way (brust, 1993 ).

  7. Gratis Musik und Filme downloaden

    Dort sind die 3 bekanntesten Usenet Anbieter im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgelistet

  8. I am an aquaintance of the gentleman from the great State of Maine who sired the originator of the heralded “fatty eggroll”. I’ve personally never attended a Dead show , but did attend the original Woodstock in 69 and Have entertained the Dead -Garcia(deceased) as their personal chef back in the mid 80’s when they played at Oxford Plains Speedway in Maine; all this on the heels of having had the pleasure if cooking for our old friend Charlie Manson (vegan) many moons ago grasshopper!

  9. cori says:

    The fatty eggroll guy from dead tour is still rockin them out at music festivals…He does mostly California festivals, but he still rolls a good fatty.

  10. vivetra says:

    nothing like a crunchy crust and a steaming filling. i love egg rolls.

  11. Anibal Tesar says:

    You popped up on google when I did a search for a subject. Happy I found your blog. I’ll subscribe to your RSS feed.. btw.. I am looking for the facebook like button to add this piece to my feed.. do you have one?

  12. tomxc says:

    Those egg rolls look really sumptuous. I can’t wait to have a bite with my partner at windshield repair kit.

Leave a Reply

