Cafe Zaiya

Midtown Lunch has a new home located at

www.midtownlunch.com

 

If you would like to read about Cafe Zaiya you can go directly to the new link at:

http://midtownlunch.com/blog/2006/08/16/cafe-zaiya-2/

 

17 Responses to Cafe Zaiya

  1. onigiri for me says:

    best. lunchplace. ever.

  2. Deb says:

    OmsB is great, you must check it out! Also, JAS Mart has the best rice rolls, not onigiri, a roll that hasn’t been cut into the 6 or 8 pieces. They have the best spicy tuna and natto rolls!

  3. Willy D. says:

    Important things about cafe Zaiya, which I have been going to for years:

    1. The crispy red-bean donut is inhumanly good, but don’t expect to get any work done for the rest of the day after eating one

    2. Earlier this year, Zaiya was shut down for 1-2 days for health code violations.

    3. Try as I might, I cannot get them to make their delicious looking fried chicken sandwiches without them slathering it in mayo

    4. The chicken in the fried-chicken cutlet bento boxes is quite fatty

    5. I’ve seen Parker Posey eating there a number of times

  4. Robyn says:

    “But in reality, pastries and donuts a lunch does not make (did that make sense?).”

    NOOO, YER WROOONG, NOOO!

    I mean…okay. Sometimes I want something non-sugar loaded. Which is why I love Cafe Zaiya; get something sweet and savory at the same time! Mmm, carbed. I like their mayo-ed sandwiches–they’re great for the price. And anything with red bean is tops on my list. The steamed red bean buns are especially nice since they’re stored in the steamy thing which keeps them warm and squishy.

  5. silvermike says:

    Better than crack – you’ve done it again!

  6. DT says:

    So, I went this morning on my way to work to pick up a mochi donut and I walked in and was totally disappointed. There were only a few muffins and croissants out. I can’t imagine that everything is sold out at 8:30am or do they not put out these delictables till lunch?? I was very bummed!

  7. Joe says:

    Dear Zach,

    I love/worship you.

  8. fixilator says:

    What really surprised me — the carbonara is really good. Super-generous, and so cheap for what you get — I think it’s $6.50 for a BIG ol’ pile. I got it the first time I went there and have never gotten anything else.

  9. […] It seems like these little rice balls are poised to become pretty popular in New York City.  I first saw them at Cafe Zaiya a few months ago, but since then they seem to be popping up all over the place… especially in take out sushi restaurants.  While I enjoyed the spicy tuna omusubi I had at Cafe Zaiya, Oms/b takes it to the next level.  The rice is fresher, the ingredients are better, the selection is larger and the presentation is pretty amazing.  As you know, I’m not big into describing how food looks, and I don’t think I ever talk about things like presentation- but man, when you walk into this place it’s pretty sweet.  All of the rice balls rolled up in a row is a pretty beautiful sight…. (does that make me a wuss?) […]

  10. Jbeans says:

    I love their onigiris and sandwiches.. best place ever and in the winter months they have a nice soup selection.. chicken corn chowder is the best.. however you must get there early for that soup.. it gets sold out fast!

  11. […] Place you discovered on MidtownLunch.com: Cafe Zaiya. A friend of mine had been searching for Mont Blanc pastries like the ones she had in Italy for a long time but had never found them in New York. I saw them at Cafe Zaiya and told her about it. Apparently she had been eating lunch there every day for months but had never bothered to look in the pastry case. She loved them!If you could work anywhere (just because of the lunch) where would it be and why?  Tomales Bay, CA. That’s where the Hog Island Oyster Company is, and that is where I would like to spend the rest of my life: oyster heaven. In New York, I’d love to work within walking distance of Chinatown and all the great food that comes out of that neighborhood. I can’t imagine getting away health-wise with spending $1 for lunch at Tasty Dumpling every day, but it sure is nice to dream about. […]

  12. […] I didn’t plan on writing about Thanksgiving this week, but on Friday I found a little treat that was perfect to write about this week- and of course it was at a Japanese place.  On Friday I was walking down what is becoming one of my favorite streets to eat lunch in Midtown- 41st btw. Madison & 5th.  There are only three places, and they are all Japanese- but each place offers up it’s own distinct experience of take-out Japanese fare.  There is Yagura (a no frills supermarket with a small and cheap selection of made to order bento boxes), Cafe Zaiya (a slightly nicer, always packed bakery with pre-made bento boxes, rice balls and tons of other treats) and Chiyoda- the place I decided to pop into on Friday. […]

  13. […] I didn’t plan on writing about Thanksgiving this week, but on Friday I found a little treat that was perfect to write about this week- and of course it was at a Japanese place.  On Friday I was walking down what is becoming one of my favorite streets to eat lunch in Midtown- 41st btw. Madison & 5th.  There are only three places, and they are all Japanese- but each place offers up it’s own distinct experience of take-out Japanese fare.  There is Yagura (a no frills supermarket with a small and cheap selection of made to order bento boxes), Cafe Zaiya (a slightly nicer, always packed bakery with pre-made bento boxes, rice balls and tons of other treats) and Chiyoda- the place I decided to pop into on Friday. […]

  14. […] despite running behind, managed to meet jqln for lunch. she took us to our new favorite place, cafe zaiya, where we had these crazy seaweed-wrapped rice triangles stuffed with bits of goodness [onigiri: tasty, cheap as hell, and not really that crazy, but any time food is so precisely geometric, we find it a bit wild. we had the spicy tuna] and this amazing japanese milk soft drink [calpis] [we think it may have saved our lives]. note to the ravenous—one cannot simply tear into onigiri, as we did. there is a format that must be followed to correctly open the package, otherwise one looks like a jackass [see fig. 1]. […]

  15. Paul says:

    Cafe Zaiya is friendly. The staff is nice and the food is OK. Not great, just OK, but the variety is definitely a plus. Baked goods, hot food, salads, sushi (not as great as Chiyoda next door), sandwiches, and bentos. Zaiya blows away OmsB. I work near OmsB and the staff there is absolutely not friendly (for the most part). I have always been well-treated every time I visited Cafe Zaiya.

  16. english mastiff

    english mastiff

  17. algerie immobilier…

    […]Cafe Zaiya « Midtown Lunch[…]…

Leave a Reply

