Sapporo Restaurant

Midtown Lunch has a new home located at

www.midtownlunch.com

If you are interested in reading about Sapporo, you can go directly to this page:

http://midtownlunch.com/blog/2006/06/14/sapporo-restaurant/

12 Responses to Sapporo Restaurant

  1. Cynthia says:

    oh I been there a lot of times. One of my favorite and simple japanese resturant. My husband took me there once when we first dated. Miss going there, hopefully when I have again I will pig out there.

  2. H.Allen says:

    Momofuku is great and all, and the steamed Berkshire pork buns are incredible, but in terms of ramen, Sapporo is, and has been for years the best and most authentic thing going.

  3. Jen says:

    A great sushi place is Kikku, 50 W 55th on the 2nd floor. There are lots of places on that block (btn 5th and 6th) but this one stands out.

  4. setver says:

    I’ve eaten at Sapporo many times; I’ve been going there for over 20 years. The head chef is still the same guy. I recommend:

    Katsu Don — must try, it’s very popular in Japan
    Miso Ramen (or Special ramen, wich is same thing with more fish cakes)
    Katsu Curry — delicious, and fast: order if you’re in a hurry

    Many other dishes are delicious, esp. Tan Tan Men, Yudofu, Hyashi Chuka, Sukiyaki.

    Oh, and order hot sake — it’s a bargain.

  5. Franklin says:

    I recommend the Sapporo Special raman. It’s a soy bean based and is, for lack of better words, a conglomeration of all the other ramen on the menu. It comes in that gigantic white bowl they carry around all the time.

    If you go around 1:00pm – 2:00pm, there’s almost never a wait.

  6. Martha says:

    I’ve been going to Sapporo for years. The soup (I like the miso ramen) and the gyoza are always tasty, and it’s a very inexpensive place to go if you need a quick bite.

  7. gungirl_newyork says:

    I wanted to go to Sapporo for lunch today, only to find the place is closed for renovations.
    ūüė¶

  8. […] Sapporo, after being closed for two weeks for “repair work”, finally re-opened this past Friday.¬† While the food at this Midtown Ramen institution is delicious, I always felt like it was on the “dingy” side (especially when compared to Men Kui Teior Menchenkotei)- but with these “repairs” I was¬†amped for a cleaned up version of one of my favorite Midtown lunch destinations.¬† Who knows what they would do?¬† New floors?¬† New Ramen Bar?¬† The possibilities were endless… especially considering what it looked like¬†last Thursday afternoon. […]

  9. Craig says:

    I eat Ramen all over New York with my wife (who is Japanese born). I think Sapporo is some of the worst Ramen in NY. Far better options like Menkui Tei and Menchanko Tei (even though it is a chain). Only good thing about Sapporo is its size compared to other Ramen joints.

  10. […] It’s been over four months since I started this food blog, and in all that time I’ve never once taken a sick day.¬† So figuring I get 5 sick days a year, pro-rated for a little over half a year (since I started this in June), means I probably have 3 sick days to use between now and the end of the year… so I’m using one today.¬† I’ve been feeling like crap this week, and there’s nothing better to eat when you’re sick then a big hot bowl of ramen.¬† Sapporo is good, and Men Kui Tei is great, but my new favorite in Midtown¬†is the Menchanko at Menchenko-Tei (with two locations… one on 45th btw. Lex. & 3rd, and one on 55th btw. 5+6th).¬† […]

  11. […] In my quest to search out the best Ramen in Midtown, I feel like I’ve gone backwards… Sapporo¬†was first, because it was right next to my office building.¬† A longtime favorite of the area, the Miso Ramen is delicious-¬†but the¬†quality of the ingredients (especially the pork)¬†I found to be less than great.¬† I followed that up with Men Kui Tei, which I found to be a notch above Sapporo.¬† The Miso Ramen was also delicious, but the pork and other ingredients in the soup were of a much higher quality.¬† It probably worked out better this way- because if I had gone to Menchanko-Tei first, I might not have enjoyed the other two as much… […]

  12. Sapporo says:

    […] cold?!  Nothing, I tell you!”  I’d also read good things from Zach over at Midtown Lunch, so I was a bit excited to finally be in Midtown for Lunch.  (Corny, I […]

Leave a Reply

