Moshe’s Falafel

Day Two of Falafel Week!

It's day two of my search for the best Falafel in Midtown… and while nobody has ever recommended Moshe's to me- I have walked by it many times, and it usually has a really long line.  Well, in most places, long lines means good- so I figured I'd try it.

I'm not sure if I was there on a bad day or what, but the falafel I got was a mess.  There was so much tahini poured over the top it was impossible to eat.  I asked for hot sauce, but couldn't taste any under all the tahini- so I'm not sure if it was there, or they forgot to put it on. 

Because this is a cart, and the falafel are made right there, they were warmer and a little fresher then yesterday's falafel (House of Pita), and had a really delicious outer crust that tasted sort of like the batter that you find around fried seafood in New Orleans (definetely not a bad thing!).  Unfortunately the inside was a little a dry.  You would think the tahini would have helped, but all of that was on the top, and the falafel was on the bottom.  Their layering could definetely use a little work.  Four falafels on the bottom of the pita pocket, lettuce and tomato on top of that, and then one falafel on top to make it seem layered… with the whole thing smothered in tahini.

I basically had two bites of falafel covered in tahini, four bites of just lettuce and tomato, and then the bottom was all falafel.  The pita was better then yesterday, but it started falling apart after bite two, because of the tahini.  Pretty disappointing.  Usually taste rules, but when considering a place to eat a quick lunch on your break from work- messiness has to be taken into consideration. 

Like I said, there was a really long line, so people must like this place- and maybe I just got one bad falafel.  Next time I will definetely ask them to go easy on the tahini… maybe that will be an improvement.  $4.25 for a whole, $3.00 for half… although I'm not sure what would constitute half… maybe less filling?  That might be an improvement as well… If you've been here before please comment and let me know if your experience has been the same as mine.

The +/- and location info after the jump…

THE +

  • If you are into lettuce and tomato on your falafel, they give you plenty (along with plenty of tahini as well
  • There's always a long line, so I'm guessing there are people who like it

THE -

  • Too messy
  • Poorly layered… not a single bite had a little bit of everything

Moshe's Falafel Cart on the SE Corner of 46th Street & 6th Avenue

13 Responses to Moshe’s Falafel

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think you did hit a bad day, because I have been going for years and this place is great. Ask for less tahini if you thought there was too much, but I like that they put some in the middle instead of all on top and you can get hot sauce too and the pickle just makes it perfect. Just know what you want in advance because they get grouchy when there is a line and you are next and still looking at the signs.

  2. Lisa says:

    I’ve eaten here for years but, recently I have noticed the guys that put the falafel together has not been there and they have had to train other people this is the problem, same as in many other eatery in the city the people that put the food together have no clue of how it is supposed to be so they just throw it together. I have learned to order take it back to the office and use a knife & fork

  3. […] Tuesday – Moshe’s Falafel – SE Corner of 46th & 6th Avenue. […]

  4. rachel says:

    rice be good to eat!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Ate there today for the first time. It was moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside with plenty of good stuff. Loved it.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Half the pleasure was the mess. We ate it outdoors in the park across the street. Next time I will use a fork. So good. So spicy. So crunchy. So moist. Just wonderful.

  7. Ana says:

    I’m never going to this place again! I ordered my falafel and had to wait for it (after paying). When the guy finally made it, the other guy was all eager to charge me again. Also, the guy who made it, pretty much threw the bag at me. In the end, it wasn’t that good anyway (not much flavor) and too messy!

  8. […] for nuts and plantains, I’m perfectly happy to live in a world of edible abundance. From street cart falafel to fine dining, food in America is abundant in food like no other civilization in man’s […]

  9. […] for nuts and plantains, I’m perfectly happy to live in a world of edible abundance. From street cart falafel to fine dining, food in America is abundant in food like no other civilization in man’s […]

  10. […] for nuts and plantains, I’m perfectly happy to live in a world of edible abundance. From street cart falafel to fine dining, food in America is abundant in food like no other civilization in man’s […]

  11. […] Falafel for a while now, parked on 17th Street, just east of 5th Ave. (There’s another one in midtown.) You can’t really miss it. It’s not a cart. I think it’s a refurbished […]

  12. lou says:

    Where is the truck that used to be on 33rd st?

  13. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest
    authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to have
    you share some stories/information. I know my readers would enjoy your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to
    shoot me an email.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

